8 Mills of Erwin Mills

Mill #1

Mill No. 1, Durham, NC: It all started on Ninth Street in 1892 (photo taken in 1930).

14 Men of Mill #2

Mill No.2 , Erwin, NC: Fourteen men with prominent positions in the Durham community: (front, left-right) BN Duke, Washington Duke, JB Duke, TJ Walker, AB Carrington, JS Cobb, John Angier; (back) Dr. AG Carr, WA Erwin, JE Stagg, Frank Tate (in charge of building Erwin Mill No. 2), ES Yarbrough, Capt. Lemon (in charge of building Durham & Southern railroad) and FL Fuller (photo taken in 1904).

Mill #3, Cooleemee Mill

Mill No. 3, Cooleemee, NC

Mill #4

Mill No. 4, Durham, NC.

Mill #5, with pool

Mill No. 5, Erwin, NC: Erwin pool next to the mills

Mill #6, Pearl Cotton Mills

Mill No. 6, Durham, NC: Brodie Duke built the Pearl Mills on nearby Trinity Avenue in 1892 and named them after his daughter. Wash Duke's oldest son, Brodie was the first Duke to move into Durham. Mill houses were built across the railroad tracks on Washington and Orient streets. Erwin Mills purchased the Pearl Cotton Mills in 1932.

Mill #7, Wake County

Mill No. 7, Wake County, NC. Erwin Mills purchased Diana Mills (on the Neuse in Wake County) in 1948.

1939 Stonewall Cotton Mill

Mill No. 8 (Stonewall, MS)

Erwin Cotton Mills Timeline

1892 Erwin Cotton Mills incorporated, the Duke family owning a controlling interest with Benjamin N. Duke as president and William Allen Erwin as manager.
1893 Mill No. 1 began operation in Old West Durham
1896 Mill No. 1 doubled in size
1903 Mill No. 2 built at Duke (now Erwin), Harnett County, NC
1906 Cooleemee Cotton Mills, Cooleemee, Davie County, NC, acquired and operated as Mill No. 3
1910 Mill No. 4, bleachery and finishing plant built in Old West Durham
1926 Mill No. 5 built at Erwin, NC
1927 William Erwin succeeded BN Duke as president
1932 Pearl Cotton Mills on Trinity Avenue acquired and operated as Mill No. 6
1932 Kemp Plummer Lewis succeeded WA Erwin as president
1948 Diana Mills at Neuse, Wake County, NC, acquired and operated as Mill No. 7
1948 Stonewall Cotton Mills, Stonewall, Mississippi, acquired and operated as Mill No. 8
1948 William Haywood Ruffin succeeded KP Lewis as president
1949 Accounting procedures changed from longtime standard forms posted by hand to radically different forms utilizing business machines
1953 Abney Mills of South Carolina acquired control and its president, Francis Ebenezer Grier, became chairman of the board
1960 Burlington Industries acquired control, Erwin Mills continuing as one of its divisions
1969 Pearl Cotton Mills (Mill No. 6) closed
1986 J.P. Stevens acquired and closed plant in Old West Durham